Asking the experts: lighter "sours", gose/berliner/etc

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ridglens

Reaction score
I'm really new at these lighter "sours", specifically gose and berliners...

I'm not really looking to age a bunch, but who's got experience on relative shelf-life and freshness? I'm assuming they are reasonably stable, but not sure...

Anyway, are they like IPAs in that i need to drink them fresh and they'll fade? or more like lambic in that they'll develop over time?

cheers!

I'm really new at these lighter "sours", specifically gose and berliners...

I'm not really looking to age a bunch, but who's got experience on relative shelf-life and freshness? I'm assuming they are reasonably stable, but not sure...

Anyway, are they like IPAs in that i need to drink them fresh and they'll fade? or more like lambic in that they'll develop over time?

cheers!

I have never met a fruited berliner I liked better tomorrow than today. If that helps. The fruit can fade fast (doesn't in all cases, but better safe than sorry, dome that ***** now)

I wouldn't ever age Gose.

Berliner Weisse, depending on how the base is to begin with could benefit, maybe. I tend to like Berliners without that cheesy smell so I wonder if that might go away after some time and clean up a bit.

Sounds like better fresh than not, but not quite like hopslam. Thank y'all, I'll drink up!

most of the berliners or gose i have aged started falling off around 6 months. they still remained good, but not as good as they were fresh.