Dublin - What's the craic?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I studied abroad in Dublin back in 2003. At the time I was just happy to drink as much Guinness as I could...obviously my tastes and I'm guessing the craft beer scene there have changed a lot since then. I know this is zero help to OP but I'm going to be back in Dublin for a day in September so I'd be also be interested in hearing what any recent visitors have to say.

Last time I went to Dublin was mid nineties. We used to catch the overnight ferry from Holyhead, and arrive in Dublin about 5am. Straight to the Meat (?) market for breakfast and beer, then ask for a pub that would be open. Spend the day drinking in some dodgy back street pub only emerging into the sunlight to try and find some food. Go watch a football match and then stumble back onto the night ferry home.

My times in Dublin have always been drunk from arrival until departure. Had a great time each and every time we went. ****ed if I can remember anything worthwhile to help you out.

Alright lads simmer down. There's quite a grip of craft beer and new beer to the market it seems. I gotta watch it because I think I'm getting fat, but I've already casually been to a bar called the Black Sheep (owned by the local Gallaway Brewery that had around 30 taps of local and import (founders, sierra nevada, a few others) craft beer and really good food. Finding that most bars have a pretty well rounded lineup if you aren't in the tourist hell-holes. Also, the new Guiness west-indies porter is good craic if you run into it at the store.

Had some good rye ale on tap that I can't remember the name of either :(

I need whiskey advice though. Anything specific to here worth bringing back to the states?

Places I drank in Dublin -