How do I make beer from beloved potato?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Not as complicated as it may sound. You'll most likely have to do a cereal mash to convert the starches to sugar. There are a couple of ways to do this.

Once that's done you need to decide what you want in a potato based beer. hoppy? pale? Potatoy

Source: BYO Magazine, March-April 2010
When I was a graduate student at UC-Davis I attended a Master Brewers meeting at the local Sudwerk Privatbrauerei Hübsch brewery where I worked part-time as a brewer. The speaker at this particular meeting was a retired brewmaster from the Lucky Lager Brewing Company in San Francisco, which closed in 1978. The retired Lucky brewmaster talked about what he did during WWII to keep beer flowing from the brewery when corn and rice adjuncts were rationed and unavailable to brewers. He told of using potatoes as a replacement for rationed raw materials commonly used by brewers as adjunct grains. If my memory serves me right (this talk was given in 1993 or 1994) he used dried potato spuds. Before diving into this question I bought some dried potato spuds and verified that they are easy to handle and could have been received, stored and conveyed like other dry raw materials used by brewers. They also are extremely easy to hydrate.