Question/Opinion Site won't work at work

Discussion in 'Questions, comments, bugs, etc.' started by BigFrank, Nov 8, 2018.

1. BigFrank

BigFrank

So last week TB stopped loading at work. When I try to view it this is what I get. Why does this happen? Is there something I can do to fix it? I should mention than this happens when I get on the public WiFi. Used to be fine, but not anymore.

Please tag any and all computer savvy TB'ers.

BadJustin, tosh and pjs234 like this.
  2. BadJustin

BadJustin Moderator Staff Member

Fenyx

FWIW, mine doesn’t in the office either, same error but works fine at home via my work VPN

3. mborden

mborden

I had a similar thing happen on a different website I visit a few months back. If you click on the certificate it looks like a new one was issued on 10/12/2018. I'm not an expert, but I think sometimes it can take longer for that to propagate, since some servers or whatever can cached the old ones?

With the "other" website that I mentioned, I wasn't able to connect to it with my home internet via any device that were all going through my home internet connection because the cert was expired, but when I hopped on the neighbor's open access point or went to connect via my phone on LTE it was fine. After a while the issue sorted itself out, though it was super annoying.

lurchingbeast likes this.
  4. NeedsMoreDog

NeedsMoreDog

your work has a proxy. basically the proxy or firewall is doing a man-in-the-middle with a self-signed certificate, which is different than the actual talkbeer.com certificate, to decrypt/encrypt traffic for DPI (deep packet inspection), and browsers do not like this and throw the warning. you can't do anything but set a local exclusion in your own browser, go to the Advanced link underneath Back to Safety it should be under there

JulianB, Sage, exitmusic00 and 3 others like this.
  5. mborden

mborden

[​IMG]

buzzword, Stubs, iong516 and 4 others like this.
  6. BigFrank

BigFrank

[​IMG]