Resolved Some images showing "X" icon

Discussion in 'Questions, comments, bugs, etc.' started by FTowne, Dec 28, 2016.

  1. Gene

    Gene Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Location:
    North Jersey / NYC
    A lot more than that ended up fucked last night. We ran into a little issue where the (enormous) image cache caused some mayhem during an automated backup, crashed a few services, and once again completely consumed all available space. Working on a more permanent solution.
     
  2. mateoloco

    mateoloco

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Well, on the bright side I woke up to only a few posts in the Locals BIF instead of 30 pages of breakfast talk, so thanks for that.
     
  3. KWMiles

    KWMiles

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Location:
    Squat Rack
    Any changes to the image caching that would cause them to gobble up way more mobile data than before?

    Or maybe boogercrack needs to stop posting weird as fuck high res gifs.
     
    Photekut, sliverx, duceswild and 8 others like this.
  4. Gene

    Gene Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Location:
    North Jersey / NYC
    Nah, it's just that we keep several redundant daily/weekly backups so the impact multiplied quickly.
     
    duceswild, mateoloco, tosh and 4 others like this.
  5. KWMiles

    KWMiles

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Location:
    Squat Rack
    Typical boogercrack
     
    Photekut, sliverx, duceswild and 5 others like this.
  6. mateoloco

    mateoloco

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Location:
    Atlanta
    I think you're confusing him with evilhead.
     
  7. tosh

    tosh

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Arg
    We going down again tonight Gene ?

    [​IMG]
     
    tbub18, Sender1, abawol01 and 3 others like this.
  8. beerindex

    beerindex

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Location:
    West Michigan
    One thing I've noticed is if an image doesn't show, like in the post immediately above me, if I click the reply button to quote it, the image loads in the quick reply box. Not sure if that is useful information, but I haven't seen it mentioned in another post yet, and I figured more information couldn't hurt.
     
    tosh likes this.
  9. Gene

    Gene Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Location:
    North Jersey / NYC
    Yup! We made a major change this morning though that should prevent this from happening again.
     
  10. Ataraxia

    Ataraxia

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Location:
    Palo Alto
    Just tried posting a couple different images hosted on Postimage.org (have used them for years) and neither show up in the forum after saving the post. However, they show up just fine in the post as I'm making it or when I go to edit it.
     
  11. Gene

    Gene Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Location:
    North Jersey / NYC
    They might be blocking our proxy.